Happy 189th Birthday Louisa May Alcott

Today is the 189th birthday of the author Louisa May Alcott. The world is a better place because she was in it and still feels the loss that she has left.

NAME: Louisa May Alcott
BIRTH DATE: November 29, 1832
DEATH DATE: March 6, 1888
PLACE OF BIRTH: Germantown, Pennsylvania
PLACE OF DEATH: Boston, Massachusetts
REMAINS: Buried, Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Concord, MA

BEST KNONW FOR: Louisa May Alcott was an American author who wrote the classic novel Little Women, as well as various works under pseudonyms.

Famed novelist Louisa May Alcott was born on November 29, 1832, in Germantown, Pennsylvania. Alcott was a best-selling novelist of the late 1800s, and many of her works, most notably Little Women, remain popular today.

Alcott was taught by her father, Amos Bronson Alcott, until 1848, and studied informally with family friends such as Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Theodore Parker. Residing in Boston and Concord, Massachusetts, Alcott worked as a domestic servant and teacher, among other positions, to help support her family from 1850 to 1862. During the Civil War, she went to Washington, D.C. to work as a nurse.

Unknown to most people, Alcott had been publishing poems, short stories, thrillers and juvenile tales since 1851, under the pen name Flora Fairfield. In 1862, she also adopted the pen name A.M. Barnard, and some of her melodramas were produced on Boston stages. But it was her account of her Civil War experiences, Hospital Sketches (1863), that confirmed Alcott’s desire to be a serious writer. She began to publish stories under her real name in Atlantic Monthly and Lady’s Companion, and took a brief trip to Europe in 1865 before becoming editor of a girls’ magazine, Merry’s Museum.

The great success of Little Women gave Alcott financial independence and created a demand for more books. Over the final years of her life, she turned out a steady stream of novels and short stories, mostly for young people and drawn directly from her family life. Her other books include Little Men (1871), Eight Cousins (1875) and Jo’s Boys (1886). Alcott also tried her hand at adult novels, such as Work (1873) and A Modern Mephistopheles (1877), but these tales were not as popular as her other writings.

Author of books:
Hospital Sketches (1863, letters)
Moods (1865, novel)
Morning Glories and Other Stories (1867, short stories)
Little Women (1868-9, novel)
An Old Fashioned Girl (1870, novel)
Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo’s Boys (1871, novel)
Aunt Jo’s Scrap Bag (1872-82, six volumes)
Work: A Story of Experience (1873, novel)
Beginning Again, Being a Continuation of Work (1875, novel)
Eight Cousins; or, The Aunt-Hill (1875, novel)
Rose in Bloom: A Sequel to “Eight Cousins” (1876, novel)
Silver Pitchers and Independence (1876)
Under the Lilacs (1877, novel)
Jack and Jill: A Village Story (1880, novel)
Spinning-Wheel Stories (1884)
Jo’s Boys and How They Turned Out: A Sequel to “Little Men” (1886, novel)
Lulu’s Library (1886-9, short stories)
A Garland for Girls (1888, short stories)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.